fruit, some produce, and some more fruit

1 Jun

So I’ve never had a blog before, and besides facebook I don’t do twitter or any other type of social networking..so it took me a while to figure out how to start this thing. But not having to work at all today, I had to decide what to do with all my free time, so I made a blog! It is like 95 degrees today, and I would go to the beach, but when my sister was here I got burnt, so I decided against that. But I finally called this local U-pick strawberry place, asking how heavily they spray their strawberries (because there are like no pick your own farms that are organic here). To my surprise the guy said they just did not spray this year! So I was thrilled to be able to get a ton of fresh berries, but unfortunately it was towards the end of their crop. It was quite the back-breaking process searching for little red berries in the 90 degree weather,  but I ended up with about 3 pints worth of the sweetest, chemical free berries there are. They are literally like candy-I’ll never be able to understand how people can’t taste the difference with organic fruits and veggies compared to conventional. He gave them all to me for 5 dollars, then I got 2 cantaloupes for another 5, so he gave me a great deal for only 10 bucks (:

I made out great at the discounted little stand at Harris Teeter. My days worth of purchases was 18 dollars total for all of this delicious fruit. My Harris purchase was about 8, which included 6 peaches, 7 apricots, 4 bananas, 1 sweet potato, 4 large red onions, 2 cantaloupes, 5 granny smith apples, 4 quinces (not sure yet what to do with them), 1 pepino melon, 2 grapefruits, and a whole lot of strawberries.

Successful healthy bargain shopping? I think yes.

I decided to throw together a quick spinach salad for dinner, I felt a little lacking on the green side, having more fruit than normal lately…I made a raspberry ginger dressing in the vitamix, with plenty extra that would last several days.

Raspberry Ginger DressingRaspberry Ginger Dressing

1/4 cup  EV olive oil

1/8 cup apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon of honey (I used a little less)

Pinch of salt

1 tsp dried basil

1/4 cup fresh or frozen raspberries

2 tsp of peeled fresh ginger (more or less)

1/8 cup water

I just blended on variable 5 in the Vitamix for 30 seconds.

 

Drizzled over my organic spinach with onion, peaches, and walnuts, it was the perfect summer time salad!

 

 

One Response to “fruit, some produce, and some more fruit”

  1. Lauren B June 1, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    gurl this looks REALLY GOOD!! 🙂 can’t wait for more posts to come! ps congrats on startin’ the blog!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

