Super Green

1 Jun

So I rarely have anything but my green smoothie for breakfast. But I got a bunch of free organic sweet potatoes from work the other day, so I had to use them somehow I hate wasting food. I decided to adapt a recipe from the blog Sketch-free Vegan Eating. I changed it up and mine ended up looking totally different, but still delicious.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sweet Potato Pancakes (makes 3 medium sized)

1 Large organic sweet potato (peeled, cooked & mashed)

1 cup oat flour (you can use any variations of almond, coconut, and quinoa flour)

1 Tbs cinnamon

1 tsp fresh nutmeg

1 flax egg (1 Tbs ground flax, 3 Tbs warm water)

1 Tbs melted coconut oil

1-2 tsp vanilla

The flax egg is a great stable to replace the egg as the emulsifier in most recipes. (Chia eggs work even better) Let the ground flax and water sit for a couple of minutes, and the tiny seeds will absorb the water to make an egg consistency!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just combine all ingredients in a bowl to your desired consistency. I had to add a little water and almond milk to make it a little thinner. I cooked mine until it became brown on the outsides. Then sprinkle with some unsweetened coconut, fresh grated nutmeg, and top with fresh strawberries! (you could add some pure maple syrup or agave if you want-but no extra sugar is needed)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I do have a weakness for sweet potato & pumpkin things, so this was a great morning treat to have with some green tea.
They don’t look like the most appetizing pancakes, but trust me the sweet potato-ness is delicious.

 

After my workout I felt abnormally drained, and I’m certain it was because of my lack of green smoothie that morning. So I had to make one, and it’s amazing the boost of energy it gave me! I did a completely new variation today, since I had so much ripe produce from yesterday.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Super Green smoothie

1/2 cup almond milk

1/2 cup carrot juice

3 small apricots

1 peach

1/3 ripe banana

couple handfuls of frozen collard greens

1/4 of a large bunch of organic brocoli

scoop of green powder

some ice cubes

Blend on high and enjoy the calcium, fiber, folate, potassium, zinc, and vitamins K, A, and C!

Green Goodness

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is one glorious cup of green goodness.

2 Responses to “Super Green”

  1. mom June 3, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    YUM!!!! I wish I could be there to enjoy breakfast with you! 🙂

    • Teri June 14, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

      Hi Amy!!
      I really am enjoying your passion for your new recipes this summer!
      Even though I have not tried any of the recipes they look amazing and healthy. I just wish you were here to make them for me!:)

Leave a Reply

