Plantains!

5 Jun

I got four very ripe plantains from Harris Teeter for 1 dollar. So I had to use them pretty fast before they got too too ripe. In the past I’ve just cooked plantains on the stove or baked them in the oven, but I really wanted to try something new. Now when I have plantains they always remind me of El Salvador. When we were there we had the sweetest, savory fresh plantains at least once a day-usually with breakfast and dinner. They ¬†caramelized them, probably in deep-fried trans-fatty vegetable oil. But I try not to think about that part. But don’t worry I made a much healthier and just as tasty of a version.

 

 

I wish I could eat them raw, but because they have such a high starch content they can be hard to digest raw. But this time I decided to make baked spiced plantain chips!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Baked Spiced Plantain Chips

2 large ripe plantains

2 Tbs Olive Oil

1/2 tsp Sea Salt

1/2 tsp Turmeric

1/2 tsp Chili Powder

Sprinkle of Red Pepper flakes (optional)

1/4 tsp Curry

1/2 tsp Ground Ginger

Cracked black pepper

 

Peel and slice the plantains into thin slices. The thinner you slice, the crispier the chips will be. The thicker ones will be soft and a little soggy. Combine the plantains in a bowl with the olive oil and spices. Stir well (and gently) to make sure the slices are evenly covered. Spread on baking sheet and bake at 400 degrees. After about 8 minutes (until they are golden) flip them over, then cook 5-7 more minutes. Watch then carefully after you turn them because they may burn quickly!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This was after the first 8 minutes…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They ended up being perfect–some were crispy while some are soft. Next time I would leave them in the oven a little longer, because I love the crispy ones!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am not a fan of spicy foods, so I thought this may be too spicy for me, but it wasn’t even close to being too much. So definitely adjust the spices according to how you like it. I loved the added ginger, it balanced the spices perfectly with the natural sweetness of the plantains.

It was the perfect snack to bring to work!

 

 

Leave a Reply

