FRESH

16 Jun

These freshly picked flowers were waiting for me by the door when I got home from work the other day. My neighbor Mary left them for me, right from her yard (: They are so so pretty and I love being able to look at fresh flowers everyday.

Fresh flowers come close to the joy of fresh cut vegetables, fruit, & herbs. Basil is probably my favorite herb. We grow it fresh every year, and my favorite thing to use it for is pesto! Raw pesto is just as good/better than “normal” pesto. The only difference is there is no cheese and it is not heated up. Raw pine nuts can be hard to find, so I used walnuts. I do love pine nuts, but in pesto walnuts are just as good. I like to use a lot of garlic and a lot of basil. I added some spinach to make it go further and also add that vitamin K.

* Nutritional yeast is a yeast fortified with B vitamins (especially b12) which is crucial for a vegan/raw diet. It has a cheesy flavor that many use over popcorn or other sauces. Honestly, I’m not a huge fan of the flavor, but it is an unbeatable source of all the B vitamin, so I rally try to incorporate it everyday. It’s great in pesto because the strength of the basil covers the flavor just enough so that is adds the slightest cheesy hint to the pesto without over powering.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Basil Pesto

15-20 medium-large  fresh basil leaves

10 organic spinach leaves

1 cup raw walnuts (soaked for just 15 minutes)

3-4 garlic cloves (you may want to use 2-3)

*2 Tbs nutritional yeast

1/3 cup EVO oil

1-2 Tbs lemon juice

a little water to thin

Tbs flax oil

Combine all ingredients (except flax oil) in food processor/vitamix (no need to chop or grate anything, just throw it in whole). Add some extra water or more olive oil to get the right consistency. Once well combined, add flax oil and pulse just for a few second. Flax oil can NOT be heated hardly at all, because it oxidized easily, losing it’s high concentration of it’s Omega 3 fatty acids. The vitamix is so powerful it will heat food, and although it will not above 118 degrees- Just to be safe and conserve all the nutrients, I add it last.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I just piled on all the fresh vegetables I had over a bed of spinach, and enjoyed a vegetable platter with pesto! I had red and green peppers, carrot, cucumber, radishes, tomato & onion over spinach.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The last fresh ingredient I enjoyed earlier that day was mango! I threw together a tropical chia pudding!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tropical Chia

2 Tbs chia

4 Tbs almond milk

2 Tbs 100% mango juice (no sugar added)

couple drops of vanilla

fresh chopped mango

raw sunflower seeds

grated unsweetened coconut

squeeze of fresh lime

Combine chia with almond&mango juice & vanilla. Let sit for 20 minutes. (May want to add a little more liquid) top with the rest of the ingredients and anything else! It is a delicious tropical treat. Fresh mango is hard to beat.

Leave a Reply

