Here’s to dad

20 Jun

I always make breakfast for my mom and dad on mothers/fathers day. Growing up my sisters and I would usually do french toast for my dad and eggs for my mom. Since my dad hasn’t had pancakes in a very long time (because of me) I made him some healthy but delicious vegan banana pancakes.  He loves bananas, and after the pancakes, banana bread my sister made for him, and banana ice cream, he was happy. They turned out to be delicious. Accompanied with fruit and coffee it was the perfect fathers day breakfast. He deserved it, love you dad!


Almond Oat Banana Pancakes 

1/2 cup oat flour

1/2 cup almond flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup coconut water

2 chia egg (2 tbs chia, 6 tbs warm water)

1 tsp vanilla

1 Tbs agave

cinnamon & nutmeg

bananas, sliced

other fruit

First prepare chia egg, mix and let sit on counter for several minutes. You can buy oat and almond flour, but i just make it in the vitamix! Oats take less than 30 seconds to just grind the rolled oats (NOT quick) to a fine powder. Do the same for almonds. Almond flour and almond meal are practically the same thing. Combine wet ingredients separate and combine with dry ones, in bowl or vitamix. Let the batter sit a couple of minutes before making the pancakes. Pour on griddle and throw in banana slices, grill until golden brown. Drizzle with some extra agave if you want and fresh fruit! makes 4 or 5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These pancakes are vegan, NOT raw. But they are soy, dairy, and gluten free!

He enjoyed them (:

 

Later Lauren and I took my dad kayaking on the Potomac…



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The best fathers day dessert to end the day? Banana ice cream of course! with blueberries..

Leave a Reply

