figs!

10 Jul

Sorry I have had so few posts lately! I went on a trip for a while, and now my online class (anatomy) has started, and I am working a lot more and have been super busy! So the blog hasn’t been priority-unfortunately.

I found a ton of fresh figs (at costco of all places) and was so excited to buy them and try something new. Something I havent had in soooo long and reminds me of childhood is fig newtons! So without the added sugar and artificial coloring, I made homemade vegan fig newtons!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I adapted a recipe that I found online, if I made them again, I would’ve used coconut oil or grapeseed oil instead of olive oil. Make sure you wash the figs well and cut in half or in quarters before tossing into food processor, when making the filling. You want to keep a chunky filling so don’t blend too thoroughly (mine was a bit too thin)

Fig Newtons

Dough

1 cup of almond flour/meal

1 1/2 cup brown rice flour

pinch of sea salt

1 tsp vanilla

1/3 cup grapeseed or olive oil (or do a combo using some coconut)

1/3 cup or less of raw agave nectar or pure maple syrup

FIlling

1 cup of fresh figs (you can use dried as well)

1/2 cup of fresh lemon juice

1 Tbs vanilla

cinnamon

nutmeg

ginger

For Dough: Mix flour in food processor with salt. Combine the wet ingredients in separate bowl, then add the wet ingredients slowly to food processor with the flours. Transfer dough back to bowl and refrigerate 1 hour.

For Filling: Combine all ingredients in food processor. If too thin/thick use more figs/lemon juice. You could also add some oat flour or arrowroot powder to thicken up if its too runny.

After dough has chilled, roll out onto parchment paper into 2 thin rectangles. You can use wax paper or another sheet of parchment to press down dough and roll out. It will be a little wet. Pour filling on one half of the dough on a baking sheet/pan. Lay the other half of dough on top and pinch edges to seal. Bake 350 for 15-20 minutes until golden brown. Cut into small squares and enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now I did not roll my dough thin enough! My crust was too thick, but it was still delicious. Also, make sure your two large pieces of dough are the same size, I had a small part with no top crust. But it made the color of the bright pink figs pop out!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Using fresh figs was a first for me, but these were really fun to make!

One Response to “figs!”

  1. mom July 12, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    yummmm….. save one for me!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

