Quick & Easy

17 Jul

Since I have been so much more busy lately I haven’t had time to experiment with a lot of new raw dishes. My typical routine is to make something really fast for dinner when I get back from work at 7:45, and work on anatomy while I eat. That said, I have not been eating as raw as I would like, but still vegan.

Something I loved pre-vegan was fresh tomato, basil & mozzarella. Well, a couple of weeks ago I discovered this soy mozzarella cheese-thanks to Colleen for telling me it exists! (You can find shredded most places–like Daiya, but its hard to find a big cube of it). A friend from work was nice enough to bring me 2 huge organic dark green heirloom tomatoes (I think they are called black krim tomatoes) fresh from her garden at home. They were ripe and perfect for topping with “mozzarella” and fresh basil from my yard. I sprinkled a little olive oil and cracked black pepper and broiled on high!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It tasted JUST like real mozzarella, and melted beautifully! I bet if you served this to someone they would never guess it was soy cheese.

 

A quick snack I whipped up to take to work to munch on were roasted chickpeas! So many people need a snack that is hard and crunchy (like chips or crackers) so these are prefect. You can put whichever kind of spices you like. I used a combo of curry, turmeric, red pepper, nutmeg, ginger, cinnamon, pepper, and a little salt. It was supposed to be a garam masala blend-but I just used whatever I had here. I was very pleased how these turned out. Next time I would’ve used more spices though-especially more cinnamon because it’s my favorite.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used organic canned chickpeas, because I didn’t plan ahead of time. But I would use dry and soak them. Dry them off and toss with olive oil then spices & spread onto baking sheet in a single layer. Bake at 400 for 20-30 minutes or until they are hard all the way through. Stir every 10 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chickpeas/garbanzo beans are inexpensive, full of protein, fiber, folate & manganese and have a pretty neutral flavor so you can do so much with them. I have a couple of different chickpea brownie/blondie recipes I want to try actually!

Leave a Reply

