Chocolate Fix

22 Jul

This chocolate “mousse” is so incredibly rich and delicious. I don’t understand how this can not satisfy any chocolate craving. I think this dessert idea was actually on dr. oz a little while ago. The key is to use extra dark, unsweetened (good quality) cocoa. You can’t skimp on the dates either. I don’t really measure, I just throw in all the ingredients, taste, and add more of whatever it needs. Now this should actually work in a food processor, so I gave my little Cuisinart a shot, since I never pull him out post vitamix. Well the dates didn’t get all the way smooth and it was just taking too long,  so I regretted giving Cuisinart a try.  So I transferred everything to the vitamix and the smooth rich consistency was perfect. (If you arn’t that picky a food processor will do just fine).

Dark Chocolate Mousse

1 large avocado

6-10 dates (pits removed).

1 1/2-2 Tbs dark unsweetened cocoa powder (or carob powder if you want it raw)

Splash of vanilla

 

I soaked the dates in some warm water to soften them up. I also threw in some chia seed for added nutrition. But if you strictly want the smooth “mouse” consistency you won’t get that with the chia. Add more dates if it isn’t  sweet enough and more cocoa powder for a richer chocolate. If it is really too thick than you can add some flax or coconut oil (melted) or even coconut water.  Chill in fridge for at least 30 minutes to firm up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is so amazing on it’s own, but you can top with blueberries, strawberries, or fresh picked peaches!

 

2 Responses to “Chocolate Fix”

  1. Andrea July 23, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Looks decadent. Maybe I’ll put my Breville blender to the test… and have a back-up plan for how to “sell” it to my guinea pig if the texture isn’t smooth as silk. Do you use raw cacao powder or some other?

  2. Amy July 23, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    A Breville should definitely work for this, especially if you soak the dates for a little it should come out smooth! The dark cocoa powder I used was not raw unfortunately, but would be just as good either way. A lot of people who make this use carob powder (which is actually raw-because even raw cocoa isn’t considered raw in the raw food world because it has caffeine-but i’m not that strict on myself!) Carob will give it a different kind of taste-for this I prefer cocoa (: I hope it turns out well for you!

Leave a Reply

