the oil of coconuts

23 Jul

My new love is for coconut oil. I love all natural coconut products (whether its coconut water, meat, milk, oil, mana etc..) Coconut are truly a blessing from God. I will discuss more later.


I decided to use my vegetable spiralizer in some new ways…so I made sweet potato fries! I never make these, so it was a special (not raw) treat! I baked them in a tiny bit of coconut oil and a little bit of salt and pepper.

There is so much confusion among all the oils, but coconut oil is for sure the best oil to use whenever there is heat involved or not. It is pretty much the only oil that does not oxidize/go rancid and is completely heat stable. Yes it is almost entirely saturated fat-but it is one of the best most natural oils for you. This saturated fat raises your good (HDL) cholesterol and lowers your bad (LDL) and is known to help speed up metabolism. It is heart healthy-preventing platelets from sticking together.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Coconut oil also helps you better absorb the fat soluble vitamins (E,D,A,K). It is not like other oils, because it is not stored as fat in your body-but rather more like a carb and is broken down fast and used as energy. This oil also is antibacterial, antifungal, and antiviral. It great for healing all around. And I haven’t even mentioned its topical uses.

Yep, pretty amazing…I’m a big fan.

Some cashew butter with several teaspoons of coconut oil

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I usually don’t add anything to my nut butters except the nuts, but I tried something new and will never go back. The coconut oil boosts the nutrition aspect-although does add a lot more calories for those who count them. But it gave the cashew butter an amazing flavor and it was super creamy. So 2 ingredients. Cashews + coconut oil.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I will definitely be having more posts involving coconut oil (:

3 Responses to “the oil of coconuts”

  1. mom July 25, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    VERY informative……I will be adding coconut oil to my shopping list!! 🙂

    • Uncle Scott August 1, 2011 at 12:34 am #

      its all I use for poppin corn!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Date Coconut Logs: Looks like a “Log”, Tastes Great « Glutenfreehub - August 16, 2011

    […] the oil of coconuts (realfoodjoy.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintDiggRedditStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post.   […]

Leave a Reply

