Vegfest 2011

8 Oct

I went home 2 weekends ago for many reasons, but Vegfest 2011 in DC was one of the main contributors. This was just like a mini version of Green Festival! My friend Colleen first found out about it and told me, so I couldn’t miss it. I seem to drop everything to go to events like this, who knows when I’ll be able to go again? This was a Vegan/Vegetarian festival at George Washington University with a ton of exhibitors/vendors from mainly the DC area. There were many different businesses, food places, animal activists, and TON of vegan bakeries-including Sticky Fingers Bakery which is a famous vegan bakery in DC that was on Cupcake Wars on Food Network many times! We talked to the owner Doron Petersan who has a cupcake cook book, and was so so nice! (How awesome is it to have vegan representatives on food network!?) She gave use sample of her chocolate cupcake winner and it was the best chocolate I have ever had-even before my pre-vegan days. That is a big statement.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ahhh coconut delight!

We got so many free samples and informational handouts. Throughout the day there were different speakers, book signings (cupcake eating contests), and cooking demos. Dr. Michael Gregor was there, who is a M.D. and puts out nutritional videos that people can subscribe to. He takes the medical literature/articles, and summarized them to make it easier for people to understand and apply. He talks about the data and facts behind studies and findings, and it is just amazing how everything points back to how human are meant to be eating a plant-based diet today. He went through all the medical schooling and has all the credentials of a doctor and is brilliant. And he chooses to not put animal products into his body because he knows it is not good for us. I feel like he has so much more “pull” with people than those in the integrative/functional/holistic/homeopathic field. They are certified in some way, but clearly not the same way as doctors. Part of the reason is that when someone gets sick or when something is wrong with their health, they must “go to the doctors”. When in reality doctors often treat the symptoms and not the cause. I am so glad there are vegan doctors like Dr. Greger, so he can reach those people who only listen to “doctors”, and may be positively influenced in their way of eating. This is mainly why I am going through my Undergrad in dietetics/ a dietetic internship to get become a RD (registered dietician). Although I could go to school for two years and become certified in integrative nutrition (which I really just want to do sometime),  I’ve decided to go through the 4 years then a 1-2 year internship to  become more “recognized” and “accredited”. I am not saying that people certified in integrative,  holistic, homeopathy, or osteopathy are not accredited, because they most definitely are-just not in the same way as other people view it. But it is very hard sometimes to be learning things and told to implement certain habits and guidelines which I am completely opposed to and know it is harmful to one’s health. But that’s a whole new story.

I was asked the other day by a good friend, if I could do anything in the world for my career, what would it be. I couldn’t answer because there is just so much I would love to be doing and combining so many areas of interests. After I become an RD I want to go into integrative and functional nutrition, and some homeopathy, with a focus on sustainability. The nutrition content of food is so important, but there is so much more to just that. (which many RDs do not stress) I am passionate about being a mindful eater, caring for the environment, eating local and organic, and making connections with your food. So much is lost from our food system today, and I want to help bring some of the community and meaning back to the way we eat and how we treat our bodies. I want to help people realize how important it is to treat your body right and how they can do so to live their best life. So I am praying for direction on where I can go with all of my passions, and how I can best use these to serve the Lord, most importantly.

Sorry for that long tangent, but anyways….I waited in line to get my cholesterol checked by Dr. Greger and it was 156. I was a little surprised, but he immediately said it was the coconut products I eat. Yes coconut oil, coconut butter, and coconut milk increase your cholesterol because it has a type of saturated fat, but not in the same way that red meat does. I am doing more research on this subject and will definitely do a blog about it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think many people can relate with me when I say that there is nothing like being at a place where everyone there has a similar mindset and passion as you. It is exhilarating for other’s to be on the same page and understand where you are coming from. I have to say there was a huge proportion of animal activist exhibitors, which is not the main reason why I choose to eat vegan, but I was pleasantly surprised to also have a fair representation of environmental as well as  health advocates. Colleen Goudreau is a vegan author and health advocate-author of a ton of books! She was hilarious and did a 30-day vegan challenge. I loved her. She writes The Joy of Vegan Baking, The Vegan Table, Color Me Vegan, and Vegan’s Daily Companion

There was AMAZING food here, with 18 restaurants represented, so many of them completely raw!

Here was lunch…. Raw lasagna (zucchini noodles, cashew cheese, roasted tomato sauce and other veggies- it had ridiculous flavor), raw gingery sprouted black rice, and a lemony garlic kale salad. Honestly, was in my top 10 best meals ever list. I even got a vegan pumpkin whoopee pie at the end of day as a super special treat. When will I ever get a change to get a vegan one of those!?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you’re interested here is a list of all the food exhibitors that were there!

Amsterdam Falafelshop – sponsor

Bakeshop

Bread and Brew – sponsor

Burrito Bandits

Cafe Green – sponsor

Curry Mantra

Dama Ethiopian

 Dama Pastry

Everlasting Life Cafe

Fojol Bros. of Benethiopia

Fojol Bros. of Merlindia

Mojo Juice

Saveur India

Sticky Fingers Sweets & Eats – sponsor 

Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant – sponsor

Sweet and Natural

Vegan Treats

The day was so amazing and enlightening. Events like this just pump me up and inspire me to work hard to be able to do what I am passionate about in the future.

2 Responses to “Vegfest 2011”

  1. Andrea October 15, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    I haven’t peeked in here for weeks since you wrote that there was no time blog! I should’ve know better – you can’t keep a passionate, busy woman down. 🙂 Such informative, fun and delicious reading! So… I was in the health food store today chatting with Sue – maybe your ears were burning? She said to tell you that they all miss you, as do I, and hope that you’ll be back next summer. (hint, hint – we’re starting early) Glad everything is going so well for you! Hugs, Andrea

    • Amy October 18, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

      Hi Andrea! I miss seeing you and Good Earth so much! My parents keep me updated on whats happening down there. I am definitely considering coming back to work-all depends on studying abroad, potential classes I have to take 😦 and a possible internship. Still trying to figure it all out! I am definitely coming to Fenwick for a bit in December or January so I will hopefully work a few days when I’m there! But thanks for checking back in on the blog (: I’ve decided that I can’t get to busy to keep updating it. It is such a nice distraction from my class work. So good to hear from you, I hope you are doing well!!

Leave a Reply

